san biagio della cima
San Biagio della Cima, in Ligurian ‘San Giàixu’, is a small town with just over 1,000 residents located on the ridge that descends from Monte Santa Croce, the ‘Cima’ (peak) after which the town is named.
It was founded as a fief of the Counts of Ventimiglia, and was later recognised by the Republic of Genoa as one of the villages forming part of ‘La Magnifica Comunità degli Otto Luoghi’: together with Bordighera, Borghetto San Nicolò, Camporosso, Sasso, Soldano, Vallebona and Vallecrosia, they created a small independent territory under the patronage of Genoa. By Royal Decree of 1862, the town took its current name of San Biagio della Cima. From 1925, after a series of abolitions and reconstitutions, it became part of the province of Imperia.
The town features numerous religious buildings. In the countryside and on nearby trails are five chapels built between the 17th and 19th centuries; one of them, the one dedicated to the Annunciation, dates back to the late Middle Ages. Outside the built-up area is the Sanctuary of Nostra Signora dei Dolori, dating back to the 18th century.
In the town, in the historical centre, is the Chiesa dei Santi Fabiano e Sebastiano dating back to 1497 and completely restored in 1777, and the 16th-century Oratorio di Nostra Signora Assunta; near the cemetery is one of the town’s oldest buildings, the Chiesa di San Biagio, dating back to the 13th century.
One of the Most Beautiful Villages in Italy
A medieval village in the heart of the Nervia valley, uniting history, legends, traditions, art and culture – from the Iron Age, through Monet, Renoir, and the Dorias, to the Rossese di Dolceacqua D.O.C.
Today known as the City of Roses
SAN BIAGIO DELLA CIMA
"San Giàixu", on the ridge of Monte Santa Croce, was first a fief of the Counts of Ventimiglia, then a municipality of the Republic of Genoa and a member of "La Magnifica Comunità degli Otto Luoghi" (The magnificent community of the eight villages).
Hidden in the upper Crosia valley to escape the raids of the Saracens, Soldano is a town of ancient origins with a history steeped in agriculture: it's nestled among wattle, broom, roses, Rossese grapes, and Taggiasca olive trees.
Feel free to use this space to ask for clarifications, information or to report something. Thank you.
Antroposcene is the open-air Ethnographic Museum that narrates the widespread rural heritage of the local areas of Dolceacqua, San Biagio della Cima and Soldano. 34 km of paths, 20 points of interest, 6000 years of dialogue between man and nature. Stories of a rural construct to be protected, nature and community returning protagonists, ancient 'nomeranze' that have in the Flysch stone the common element uniting places and people. An ethno-anthropological journey guided by digital media and immersive dynamics that enhances and gives voice to the precious good that surrounds us.
[fts_instagram instagram_id=17841454580986702 access_token=IGQVJWUGdjMWs2TVkwOWF6QUg2OWt4ZAHNsbXppMklWdEo3ZAjBVV2h1S1EtSk9hN2N6SG42am11YWJidEF6d0R4Tm1lano2cTcwczh0bGdjVjlDZA3JXM0U0MlRnZAUtIaFJoUVNVclVR pics_count=4 type=basic width=100% height=auto super_gallery=yes columns=3 force_columns=no space_between_photos=1px icon_size=65px hide_date_likes_comments=no]
[fts_twitter twitter_name=@Antroposcene tweets_count=1 twitter_height=auto cover_photo=no stats_bar=no show_retweets=no show_replies=no]